Member Countries:                                        
MySchnauzer.net Celebrates Diversity! April 24, 2014, 04:22:24 AM
   Home   Help    Index Search Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How much does your Std. Schnauzer shed?  (Read 2948 times)
Andrea
Member since 2011

Toronto, Ontario, Canada

« on: January 28, 2012, 09:35:24 AM »

We just picked up our 8 month old Std Schnazuer today. On the way home she shed like crazy in the car!

I DID do my research and found they they don't usually shed much and that the amount would depend on the type of coat, how its maintained, and if the parents were large shedders. Based on these factors the dog shouldn't be shedding much. Could it be because it was stressed?

Simon, Miniature S&P, 5-years-old
Lucy, Standard P&S, 8 months
Peter
Started this 2008

Vancouver, WA

« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 11:18:02 AM »

I wouldn't even reply since I have no experience with Standards, except to say that as a puppy Pukalu went through two phases where he shed cottony fur like crazy. Actually, he never shed it in the classic way I think of a dog shedding... I never found it on the carpet or his blankets or my clothes.

But he got tangles and mats like crazy, and I had to brush daily for sure to avoid a fully mated dog. And the brush would fill with this cottony fur.

So what I'm saying is that it could have to do with being a puppy. Have you asked the breeder?

Peter

Mukaluka Dirtypaws, male black Miniature Schnauzer, 11/09/07, 15-1/8", 17.5 lb (goal) [medical]
Pukalu, male S&P Miniature Schnauzer, 03/27/10, 15", 15.5 lb (goal) [medical]
Also: Peter, His Dogs and His Websites ~ Our Therapy Dog Work ~ Our Tricks Video at DogTricksVideo.com ~ Muka's Scrapbook
Seda
Member since 2011

Houston, TX

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 11:18:53 AM »

I don't know about standards but my mini sheds when she is stressed. The only time I see hair on my cloths is in the vet's office.

FeBee - Female, S&P, 04.01.2011